My GM Reference Library

I’ve been building my reference library since I studied screenwriting in college.  There’s a lot of stuff in there that has nothing to do with gaming, and a lot that does get pulled out on a regular basis when working on a scenario for our next game session.  This is just a portion of it.  I’m going to focus on the essential stuff here:

  • Gary Gygax’s World Builder; Gary Gygax and Dan Cross
  • Gary Gygax’s Extraordinary Book of Names; Malcolm Bowers
  • Runequest Cities; Stephen Abrams, Jon Everson
  • Short History of the World; Alex Woolf
  • History’s Timeline; Jean Cooke, Ann Kramer, Theodore Rowland Entwistle
  • The Writer’s Digest’s Character Naming Sourcebook; Sherrilyn Kenyon
  • The Name Book; Michael Cader (ed.)
  • …and pretty much everything from Engine Publishing: Eureka, Masks, Never Unprepared, and Odyssey. (I haven’t read Unframed yet, but it’s on my list.)

I’m always looking for more useful references, so feel free to suggest what’s been valuable to you.

Leave a Reply

