The Force Awakens

It certainly has in my little ones.  At five and three, my wife and I agree they are a bit to young to really experience the Star Wars franchise.  As a fan who remembers going to see the original as a six year old in 1977, I think 6 is a fine age to jump right in.  My wife, who never really saw the movies as a kid and isn’t much of a fan, has more concerns…

I’m too big a fan to completely isolate my kids from the pure adolescent joy that is Star Wars.  In my enthusiasm for the new movie, I’ve started letting them listen to the soundtrack CDs.  This has led to questions about the story going on behind the music, which has led to other interesting questions.

Actual Question from my 5 Year Old: “What does ‘blow up’ mean?”

Yes, my children are that sheltered and I’m proud of that!

Now, I don’t intend to get into a diatribe about the age-appropriateness of Star Wars.  That’s for every parent to decide themselves.  But let’s face it, people are either already talking about The Force Awakens or will be in approximately one month.  So if you’re like me and feel the movies are still a bit too intense for the little ones, but don’t want to have to seal them in a bunker for the next couple of months, here’s a trio of gems I found on YouTube!!!  Yes, these are the original kids LPs from the 70s and 80s that came out with each movie, filled to the brim with dialogue cut from the movie and John William’s bombastic score.  I still have my golden cassette of The Story of Star Wars, and am still amazed at how well it holds up (from an adult perspective, with its British narrator and graduate-level vocabulary).  The others are a bit more obnoxious (the narrator, that is) but are otherwise great and make for a wonderful audio-journey into the wonderful Star Wars universe.  They are great for listening to in the car.  Let those little brains and over-powered imaginations fill in the details while you sit back and enjoy reliving your childhood for :45 minutes at a time.

2 thoughts on “The Force Awakens

  1. aemmel

    I took our oldest to see see Ep. I when she was 4. The best thing out of her mouth when it was over?

    “I like Jar Jar Binks; he’s a nice guy!”

    She’s mortified about that now, 15-16 years later, but for the mouths of babes. 🙂 (Proving that Jar Jar is there for the kids, not us.)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

