Kult: Divinity Lost Quick Start

kult DL

It’s been awhile since we talked about the new edition of Kult.  Well the developers threw us a curve ball over the holidays and released a Quick Start game for everyone, not just the Kickstarter backers.  It’s our first real look at the new engine that will power this brilliant, dark setting.

Not all responses have been positive.  Most of the negative comes from folks who already reviled the move to a Powered by the Apocalypse engine, so keep that in perspective.  Personally, I have my own hangups about that system, but I’ll keep an open mind until I’ve had a chance to look over what they’ve done.  And as a first look, I think its safe to assume the full body of rules are still under development/translation.  The final version will not satisfy everyone, but for anyone who has enjoyed the setting since its release in the 1990’s, it’s enough to have Kult taking up oxygen again.  It’s easy enough to adapt to any of dozens of RPG flavors, and the presentation of the new edition looks top notch.

I didn’t back the kickstarter, mostly because it launched around the same time as 7th Sea and I just don’t see my group signing up to play Kult on a regular basis.  But I’m still looking forward to the final product and it’s high on my 2017 list.  And I’m eager to look over the QSR once the madness of the holidays settles down.

One more thing, over on RPG.net, Adramelech has posted a form fillable character sheet based on the one in the QSR.  I’ve reposted the link here for convenience.

 

One thought on “Kult: Divinity Lost Quick Start

  1. A.M. Pietroschek

    It sounds like the next-best egomaniac cooking up some KULT to rightfully claim the kickstarter money and dish nothing any decent DM or GM or ST wouldn’t be able to write himself or herself. Actually one truth has been persistent so far: Nobody did worse on Kult than the officials…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

