Everyone Loves a Bookmark!

A week or so back, Karl Keesler over on Google+ posted this image of his character from a 7th Sea game.

proto-bookmark

The first thing I thought when I saw this was, “sword toothpicks for hero points!  That’s super cute!  Much better looking than my doubloons from Party City.”

My second thought was, “how long until one of the players suffers a REAL Dramatic Wound from one of those things?  Less than one game session in my library game, I’ll bet.”

But then I noticed that mind blowing tidbit in the upper left.  What is that?  A bookmark?  A rules reference bookmark??  How f*%#ing cool is that!  I must have it!

And so Karl and I started a little back and forth about it.  Then the bookmark’s designer, Bert Garcia got involved.  And soon, this lovely play aid was revealed in all it’s glory.

proto02

Of course, by that point, I was neck deep into crafting my own rendition.  And not one to leave good enough alone, I had to use both sides and include twice the detail.  I’m happy with the results, and one of my players has already asked for a Roll20 version.

So please enjoy this wonderful play aid for 7th Sea 2nd edition.  Full credit goes to Bert Garcia for his original design, which you can find here if you want something more minimalist.  If any of you are wondering why I’m not releasing this to the Explorer’s Society, it just seems wrong to do anything like that without a full credit (and a share of any profits) going to Bert.  Besides, I like keeping all my toys right here where I can find them.

Don’t worry.  I have some ideas that will make it into the Society soon enough.

2 thoughts on “Everyone Loves a Bookmark!

Leave a Reply

